Office of Academic Services and Retention

 
 

Petitions

Established regulations and academic petitions.

Academic regulations are established by the University to maintain and enforce academic standards, and are rigorously adhered to. Petitions are requests for an exception to an academic rule or deadline, and are only granted under special and unique circumstances. Any student has the right to petition to waive a regulation. The University similarly has the right to disapprove any petition on the grounds that the circumstances are not compelling enough to warrant an exception to the established regulation.

After consulting with your adviser, you must file your petition with the dean of your school. Undeclared students should file through the College of Arts and Sciences. The request must be in writing and you must document the extraordinary circumstances that necessitate the petition. The dean may approve or deny the petition, after which it is forwarded to the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs for a final decision. Any student petition for retroactive action must be submitted within one year.

Any student requesting a medical withdrawal (PDF) for the Fall semester must have it submitted by November 14, 2016

Depending on your academic department, your petition should be forwarded to the appropriate contact below.

College of Arts and Sciences

Ruth McShane
Assistant Dean
e – mcshane@adelphi.edu

College of Nursing and Public Health

Patrick Coonan
Dean
e – coonan@adelphi.edu

Debra Murphy
Interim Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs
e – murphy3@adelphi.edu

Jane White
Associate Dean
e – white@adelphi.edu

Gordon F. Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies

Jacques P. Barber
Dean
e – jbarber@adelphi.edu

J. Christopher Muran

Associate Dean
e – jcmuran@adelphiedu

Errol Rodriguez
Assistant Dean
Program Director 

e – erodriguez@adelphi.edu

Honors College

Richard Garner
Dean
e – garner@adelphi.edu 

Robert B. Willumstad School of Business

Erin Raia
Director Undergraduate Programs
e – eraia@adelphi.edu

Mike Minutoli
Director of Graduate Programs
e – mminutoli@adelphi.edu

Alan Cooper
Associate Dean
e – cooper@adelphi.edu

Ruth S. Ammon School of Education

Daryl Gordon
Associate Dean
e – dgordon@adelphi.edu

School of Social Work

Andrew Safyer
Dean
e – asafyer@adelphi.edu 

Laura Quiros
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Director MSW Program
e – lquiros@adelphi.edu

Cheryl McAuliffe
Director of Undergraduate Program
e – cmcauliffe@adelphi.edu

University College

Shawn O’Riley
Dean
e – oriley@adelphi.edu

Emily Wilson
Assistant Director
e – wilson@adelphi.edu


Exemptions

Exemptions from a rule are generally granted only once, so you must fully consider all ramifications of your action. Approval of an academic petition does not result in any corresponding financial credit or refund.

Such requests must be filed with the University Cashier and Billing Office/Collections. For more information, please contact 516.877.3270.

 

For further information, please contact:

Office of Academic Services and Retention
Nexus Building, Room 145
p – 516.877.3150

Regular Semester Hours

Monday–Thursday: 8:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Friday:  9:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.

(extended hours during registration periods)

Summer Hours

Monday–Friday: 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Academic Forms
Essential forms and information for the Adelphi community.
Learn more
Financial Aid and Scholarships
You can afford your college education.
Get started at Adelphi
Academic Calendar
For quick, easy access to important academic deadlines and dates.
View the calendar
 
 
Apply Now
Request Information